Thu, 1 December 2016

Finalists of 13th UNWTO Awards for Excellence and Innovation in Tourism

UNWTO has unveiled the finalists of the 13th UNWTO Awards for Excellence and Innovation in Tourism.

The 12 finalists were selected from among 139 applicants from 55 countries and the winners will be announced on 18 January 2017 at the UNWTO Awards Ceremony, organized for the fourth consecutive year in collaboration with Madrid International Tourism Fair (FITUR / IFEMA).

The awards were created to recognize excellence and innovation in tourism in four categories: 1) Public Policy and Governance, 2) Enterprises, 3) Non-Governmental Organizations and 4) Research and Technology.

The UNWTO Awards reflect the efforts done worldwide by the tourism community to foster innovation and the need of the sector to advance towards a more sustainable and responsible future, said UNWTO Secretary-General Taleb Rifai. In the last decade the Awards have shown the sectors high commitment to this goal, which this year has a special meaning as we celebrate the International Year of Sustainable Tourism for Development 2017.

Initiatives from Belgium, Costa Rica, the Dominican Republic, Egypt, India, Italy, Jordan, Mexico, Netherlands, Portugal and Spain compile the list of final candidatures from which the awardees will be announced on 18 January 2017.

Finalists of the 13th edition of the UNWTO Awards for Excellence and Innovation in Tourism

UNWTO Award for Innovation in Public Policy and Governance

Innovative use of e-tourism/Egypt's strategy 2020, Advisory Council of the Ministry of Tourism, Egypt

Invat.Tur, Valencia Region Tourism Board, Spain

Social progress index in tourism destinations in Costa Rica, Costa Rica Tourism Board, Costa Rica

Strategies for development of sustainable tourism in Guanajuato, Guanajuato State Ministry of Tourism, Mexico

UNWTO Award for Innovation in Enterprises

Adding color to lives, Carlson Rezidor Hotel Group, Belgium

Ecobnb: The community of sustainable tourism, Ecobnb, Italy

UNWTO Award for Innovation in Non-Governmental Organizations

Culture heritage: tools for sustainability of a World Heritage Site, Petra National Trust, Jordan

Inclusion of micro- and small enterprises in the sustainable tourism supply chain, Fundacin Tropicalia, Dominican Republic

Govardhan Eco Village, India

UNWTO Award for Innovation in Research and Technology

Carmacal carbon calculator for travel packages, Dutch Association of Travel Agents and Tour Operators (ANVR), Netherlands

Encyclopedia of tourism, Ulysses Foundation, Spain

IP Tourism 4.0, Turismo de Portugal, Portugal

The 12 finalists will share their expertise and experiences at the UNWTO Awards Forum on 16 January 2017 in Madrid.

Two days later, on 18 January 2017, the winners of each category will be announced at the UNWTO Awards Ceremony and Gala dinner.

See other recent news regarding: UNWTO, Awards, Madrid.

Subscribe to our Travel Industry News RSS Feed Travel Industry News RSS Feed from To do that in Outlook, right-click the RSS Feeds folder, select Add a New RSS Feed, enter the URL of our RSS Feed which is: and click Add. The feed can also be used to add the headlines to your website or channel via a customisable applet. Have questions? Please read our Travel News FAQ. Thank you.

Copyright © 1997-2022