Hong Kong Cricket Team Makes History as it Qualifies for World Cup

Travel News Asia Latest Travel News Podcasts Videos Friday, 29 November 2013

The Hong Kong National Team defeated Papua New Guinea (PNG) on Thursday (28 November 2013) to become the first ever national team from Hong Kong to qualify for a Cricket World Cup.

Despite the last-ball loss to Nepal on Wednesday, Hong Kong pulled off another nail-biter for their fans and supporters after beating PNG in the must-win match on Thursday.

Hong Kong won the toss and elected to bat, but never found their form and lost their top four batsmen in the pecking order for 19 within twenty minutes of the start of play as PNG second opening bowler, Willie Gavera, tore through Hong Kongs top order.

Then, Babar Hayat scored a magnificent 48 to help Hong Kong amass a total of 137 runs after Hong Kong were 54/5 at one stage. Hayat was assisted by strong batting from Munir Dar (22) and Mark Chapman (28).

Defending a humble total of 137, Hong Kong bowled with discipline and wickets fells quickly despite PNG fielding a team that included former England wicket-keeper batsman Geraint Jones.

PNG had a poor start and lost their first wicket in the first over of their innings after Mark Chapman ran out Asad Vala with a brilliant direct hit. Slow left-arm bowler Munir Dar earning three PNG wickets.

With one wicket remaining and 30 runs needed in the last over, PNG could not hold their nerve and were all out for 108, thirty runs short of their target.

In the end, Hong Kong beat PNG by 29 runs with five balls to spare and achieved their first-over major World Cup tournament entry.

Hong Kong, Cricket

Receive our Latest Travel News Daily Email free of charge by entering your email address and name in the boxes to the right and clicking subscribe. By subscribing, you agree with Revue's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. You can also receive the news by WhatsApp, stay updated with our RSS Feed Travel Industry News by, and even Add the Headlines to Your Website free of charge. Have questions? Please read our travel news FAQ.

Copyright © 1997-2021