Phuket Kings Cup Regatta Voted Asias Yachting Event of the Year

Travel News Asia Tuesday, 15 May 2007

Phukets annual King's Cup sailing regatta has been voted Yachting Event of the Year in the annual Christofle Asia Boating Awards. It is the second year in a row that the event has earned the accolade.

The regatta comprises of five days of racing in early December and attracts around 90 racing yachts and crews from around the world. This year the event celebrates its 21st anniversary in the Andaman Sea.

The sophisticated moorings at  the Royal Phuket Marina has already been recognised among the worlds leading marinas with the prestigious Five Gold Anchor award from the Yacht Harbour Association, an arm of the British Marine Federation.

It is the highest of three honours a marina can earn in The Gold Anchor Award Scheme, established to improve facilities for boat owners worldwide. 

Royal Phuket Marina is one of only two marinas in Asia to rank in the top category.

The Marina is part of a US$150 million luxury lifestyle marina community in Phang Nga Bay with a luxury residential development of 400 villas, penthouses and condominiums.

It is also home to a Fishermans Wharf-style Boardwalk of restaurants, the islands trendiest new spa and wellness centre, an up market shopping centre and recreational facilities so far including swimming pools, tennis courts and fitness facilities.

 A 5-star boutique hotel is included in longer-term plans, along with speedboat shuttles to an exclusive private beach club on a nearby tropical island.

See other recent news regarding: Phuket, Boats, Yachts

Receive our Latest Travel News Daily Email free of charge by entering your email address and name in the boxes to the right and clicking subscribe. By subscribing, you agree with Revue's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. You can also receive the news by WhatsApp, stay updated with our RSS Feed Travel Industry News by, and even Add the Headlines to Your Website free of charge. Have questions? Please read our travel news FAQ.



Copyright © 1997-2021