2005 OAG Awards name Virgin Blue Best Low Cost Airline of the Year

Travel News Asia 20 May 2005

Australian based low cost carrier, Virgin Blue, has been named OAG Best Low Cost Airline of the Year for the second year in a row.

The news was announced at the OAG Airline of The Year Awards in London, which have been dubbed the Oscars of the Airline Industry and recognise excellence in aviation both in the air and on the ground.

Virgin Blue was nominated in the category of Best Low Cost Airline in the world, along with popular and well established carriers US based Southwest and the UKs easyJet.

Virgin Blue Chief Executive, Brett Godfrey, said This is an extremely prestigious accolade for Virgin Blue and to be recognised within this global arena is a great privilege. We were honoured to be nominated again and considered in the same category as some of the worlds most highly respected airlines and are even more honoured to have won again.

The OAG Airline of The Year Awards are an annual event which represent the views of frequent travellers who nominate airlines based on their overall performance throughout a 12 month period. Airlines are judged on a range of factors including operational efficiency, polished service and providing travellers with an enjoyable and positive travel experience.

Brett Godfrey continued, As the first low cost airline to enter the Australian market we had a very clear objective of not only bringing competition and low fares to travellers but also being an airline that goes beyond expectations by making sure our marketing is more than lip service.

See other recent news regarding: Travel News Asia, Virgin Blue

Subscribe to our Travel Industry News RSS Feed Travel Industry News RSS Feed from To do that in Outlook, right-click the RSS Feeds folder, select Add a New RSS Feed, enter the URL of our RSS Feed which is: and click Add. The feed can also be used to add the headlines to your website or channel via a customisable applet. Have questions? Please read our Travel News FAQ. Thank you.



Copyright © 1997-2023