Thu, 18 Jan 2018

WTTC Unveils 15 Finalists of 2018 Tourism for Tomorrow Awards

The World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC) has unveiled the 15 Finalists for its 2018 Tourism for Tomorrow Awards.

The 2018 Finalists cut across five continents in the following categories: Community, Destination, Environment, Innovation and People.

The WTTC Tourism for Tomorrow Awards, now in its 14th year, showcases business practices of the highest standards that balance the needs of ‘people, planet and profits’ within our sector.

All 15 finalists illustrate great commitment to support a change in policies, business practices and consumer behaviour towards a more sustainable tourism sector.

Based in Cambodia, TREE Alliance (Training Restaurants for Employment and Entrepreneurship) is a global alliance of training restaurants working to build futures for former street youth and marginalized young people and adults. Click to enlarge.

Following a rigorous 3-phase judging, which includes an onsite evaluation, Winners of the 2018 Tourism for Tomorrow Awards will be announced during the Awards Ceremony at the 18th WTTC Global Summit, Buenos Aires, Argentina, 18-19 April 2018.

Gloria Guevara, President & CEO of WTTC said, “Sustainable growth is one of the sector’s most pressing challenges and a strategic priority for WTTC. The Tourism for Tomorrow Awards showcase the very best examples of how our sector is addressing this challenge, and contributing in a positive way to the sustainable development goals and a better world for all. I congratulate all the finalists who are playing such a significant role in ensuring the future sustainability of travel and tourism, and encourage the whole sector to learn from their best practice.”

As the travel and tourism sector continues to grow, and WTTC currently estimates global travel and tourism to have grown by nearly 4% in 2017, we have to ensure we safeguard the environment, local communities and cultural heritage, and our awards programme calls on tourism businesses to showcase just that.”

Awards Lead Judge, Graham Miller, Executive Dean, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences at the University of Surrey, said, "This year’s finalists represent all parts of the world but show that across the world tourism can be a powerful way to achieve sustainability goals. We see examples of tourism organisations that have created huge land and marine protected areas, are educating children about the importance of heritage, are empowering women and bringing micro-power to areas with no electricity. Some of these organisations are large and owned by shareholders, others are small and funded by a community or just an individual, but they all demonstrate that tourism can make today and tomorrow more sustainable.”

The Finalists of the 2018 WTTC Tourism for Tomorrow Awards are:

Community Award Finalists, whose organisations are committed to sustainable tourism leadership in local community development, empowerment and cultural heritage

* &Beyond (South Africa)
* Global Himalayan Expedition (India)
* Sustainable Development Institute Mamirauá (Brazil)

Destination Award Finalists, who show commitment to supporting and delivering sustainable tourism best practices in their destinations:

* Corporación Parque Arví (Colombia)
* Riverwind Foundation (USA)
* Thompson Okanagan Tourism Association (Canada)

Environment Award Finalists, whose organisations and companies achieved environmental best practice through biodiversity conservation, protection of natural habitats, addressing climate change, and green operations:

* Airport Authority Hong Kong (Hong Kong)
* Chumbe Island Coral Park – CHICOP (Tanzania)
* Meliá Hotels International (Spain)

Innovation Award Finalists, who provided innovative solutions to overcoming the challenges faced by Travel & Tourism in implementing sustainability in practice:

* Transportation Options (Canada)
* Virgin Atlantic (United Kingdom)
* Yayasan Karang Lestari Teluk Pemuteran (Pemuteran Bay Coral Protection Foundation) (Indonesia)

People Award Finalists, who are dedicated to the development of capacity building, training and education to build a skilled tourism workforce for the future:

* Cayuga Collection of Sustainable Luxury Hotels and Lodges (Costa Rica)
* Heritage Watch (Australia)
* TREE Alliance (Cambodia)

The winner of each category will be determined by the WTTC Tourism for Tomorrow Awards 2018 winners’ selection committee which is chaired by Fiona Jeffery OBE, Tourism for Tomorrow Awards Chair, and composed of: Sandra Howard Taylor, Vice minister of Commerce, Industry and Tourism of Colombia; Jack Spengler, Director of the Centre for Health and the Global Environment of the Harvard Chan School; and Darrell Wade, Co-Founder and CEO of Intrepid Group.

Fiona Jeffery said, “The role of the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards is to inspire and educate. They identify responsible leadership in our industry and outstanding role models from which best practices can be learnt and built. Our role is to spread this knowledge and encourage a broader appreciation of environmental and ethical governance which helps drive a growing commitment to sustainable tourism practices, so they become part of the DNA of our industry and not the exception.”

See latest HD Video Interviews, Podcasts and other news regarding: WTTC, Tourism.

Subscribe to our Latest Travel News Daily Email Free of Charge by simply entering your email address to the right. You can also stay updated with our RSS Feed Free Travel News RSS Feed and even add the travel news to your website. Have questions? Please read our travel news FAQ.
Latest Travel News
Copyright © 1997-2019