ASIA Travel

Brad Hodge to Captain Australia Squad @ Hong Kong Cricket Sixes 2012

Search ASIA Travel Tips .com Send to Friend ASIA Travel Latest Travel News Thursday, 11 October 2012

Sponsor: Our coverage of the 2012 Hong Kong Cricket Sixes was sponsored by the Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel. Just 28 minutes from downtown Hong Kong and conveniently located near the airport, AsiaWorld-Expo and Hong Kong Disneyland, the 5-star luxury Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel is the ideal and affordable choice for MICE, business and leisure travelers.

[HD video below] Brad Hodge will captain and coach the Australia squad for the Hong Kong Sixes tournament, which will take place 27-28 October 2012 at the Kowloon Cricket Club.

 Hodge, one of the top batsmen in last seasonís inaugural KFC T20 Big Bash League, will lead a selection of explosive Australian cricketers in the two-day tournament.

Meyrick Buchanan, Cameron Borgas, Travis Birt, Tim Armstrong, Theo Doropoulos and Steve Paulsen have also been named in the squad.

Hodge said, ďIím excited about the tournament, especially because itís been a long time since Iíve put on the Australian colours. Iíll be taking on a bit of a mentoring role as coach and captain and I look forward to sharing my knowledge with the guys, particularly with someone like Meyrick Buchanan, whoís still only a teenager but has been very impressive so far. I think it will be a great learning experience for all of us and a good opportunity to find a bit of form before the start of the Big Bash League.Ē

The squad was selected by National Talent Manager Greg Chappell, in consultation with the National Selection Panel.

National Talent Manager Greg Chappell said, ďWe have a good mix of youth and experience in this squad and the younger squad members will benefit from Brad Hodgeís presence as captain/coach. Australia has a good record in Hong Kong and this tournament has exposed the talent of the likes of David Warner in the past. No doubt Brad will be keen for his team to acquit themselves well.Ē

According to Hong Kong Sixes tournament rules, each team fields six players. Each game consists of a maximum of five six-ball overs bowled by each side, which is increased to eight-ball overs in the final.

Australia won the tournament in 2010, when David Warner and Ryan Carters hit 48 runs from the last over of the final to give Australia victory. Following the final, Warner was called up for international T20 selection.

Pakistan currently holds the Hong Kong Sixes trophy.

Australia 2012 Squad

Brad Hodge (Captain, age 37), Meyrick Buchanan (19), Cameron Borgas (29), Travis Birt (30), Tim Armstrong (22), Theo Doropoulos (27), Steve Paulsen (31), Bernard Moran (Manager).

Interview with Brad Hodge, Captain of Australia

See other: HD Videos from Hong Kong Cricket Sixes 2012

Other 2012 Hong Kong Cricket Sixes-related stories: South Africa Beats Pakistan to Win 2012 Hong Kong Sixes, Pakistan On Course for Record 6th Hong Kong Cricket Sixes Title, Brad Hodge to Captain Australia @ HK Sixes, Hong Kong to Play Australia in First Game of HK Cricket Sixes this Weekend, India Names Strong Team for 2012 Hong Kong Cricket Sixes, Sri Lanka, South Africa and Netherlands Confirm Teams for HK Sixes, Irfan Ahmed Returns to Hong Kong Team for HK Cricket Sixes, 8 Countries to Compete in this Weekend's Hong Kong Cricket Sixes and HD Videos from Hong Kong Cricket Sixes 2012 and Pictures from the 2012 Hong Kong Sixes.

See other recent news regarding: Airlines, Airline Traffic, Airports, Awards, Flights, Codeshare, FFP, Inflight, Lounges, First Class, Business Class, MICE, GDS, Rewards, Miles, Hotels, Apartments, Promotions, Spas, Yoga, Retreat, New Hotels, Traffic, Visitor Arrivals, Cruises, Free Deals, RevPAR, Interviews, Pictures, Sports Tourism, Videos, Cricket, Hong Kong, Australia, Sixes

Subscribe to our Latest Travel News Daily Email Free of Charge by simply entering your email address to the right. You can also receive the daily news service by WhatsApp, stay updated with our RSS Feed Free Travel News RSS Feed and even add the travel news to your website. Have questions? Please read our travel news FAQ.
Copyright © 1997-2020