ASIA Travel

Singaporean Among Eight Employees at Marriott to Receive Company's Highest Honor

Search ASIA Travel Tips .com Latest Travel News Send to Friend Friday, 22 May 2009

Marriott has honored eight employees with its J. Willard Marriott Award of Excellence. The individuals were selected from the 300,000 employees at its managed and franchised properties worldwide.

 Established in 1987 in honor of the company's founder, the Award of Excellence is presented to Marriott employees nominated by their supervisors or peers for their outstanding performance and for demonstrating over a period of time the five key traits inscribed on the award medallion: achievement, character, dedication, effort and perseverance.

Marriott also recognised the recipients of its prestigious Alice S. Marriott Award for Community Service, and the J.W. Marriott, Jr., Diversity Excellence Award.

For the Award of Excellence, Marriott’s senior management selected the following honorees:

Gary Baldwin
Lead Storeroom Clerk
Denver Marriott City Center
Denver, Colo.

Stephen Chu
Banquet Captain
The Stanford Court, A Renaissance Hotel
San Francisco, Calif.

Shane Jefferson Dowling
Chief Engineer
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick
Brunswick, Ga.

Cynthia Wheat Huddleston
Director of Services
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Tampa, Fla.

Jim Kelly
Regional Director of Loss Prevention
Western Region
Enterprise Loss Prevention
Lakewood, Calif.

Sharen Lee
Credit Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore

Anetude Michaud
Housekeeping Supervisor
Marriott’s Harbour Lake
Orlando, Fla.

Reynaldo Rey
Front Office Manager
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
San Juan, Puerto Rico

The Alice S. Marriott Award for Community Service is presented to a Marriott business unit and its team of employees in recognition of excellence in corporate citizenship.

This year’s recipient was the Kauai Marriott Resort & Beach Club, Lihue-Kauai, Hawaii.

The J.W. Marriott, Jr., Diversity Excellence Award was established to recognize a business unit or individual that demonstrates excellence in promoting diversity and building an environment of inclusion of all.

This year’s recipient was the Philadelphia Marriott Downtown and Hotel Manager Shonda Johnson, Philadelphia, Pa.

The awards were presented at a special gala at the Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center in Bethesda, Md.

See other recent news regarding: Airlines, Aviation, Flights, First Class, Business Class, GDS, Miles, Hotels, Promotions, New Hotels, Visitor Arrivals, Cruises, Free Deals, Marriott, Awards

Subscribe to our Latest Travel News Daily Email Free of Charge by simply entering your email address to the right. You can also stay updated with our RSS Feed Free Travel News RSS Feed and even add the travel news to your website. Have questions? Please read our travel news FAQ.
Latest Travel News
Copyright © 1997-2018