ASIA Travel

Schedule Confirmed for IRB Sevens World Series 2009/10

Search ASIA Travel Tips .com Latest Travel News Send to Friend Wednesday, 15 July 2009

The International Rugby Board has confirmed the dates for the eight events which comprise the 2009/10 IRB Sevens World Series, starting once again with the two events in Dubai and George, South Africa, in December 2009.

 The Emirates Airline Dubai Sevens will kick off the 11th year of the Sevens World Series on 4-5 December at 'The Sevens', Dubai's purpose-built sporting venue which staged last year's event and the 2009 Rugby World Cup Sevens for both men and women in March.

A week later, the Emirates Airline South Africa Sevens follows on 11-12 December in George on the country's famous Garden Route.

The IRB Sevens World Series will visit five continents over a six month period and feature eight established Grand Prix style events, hosted by the same eight countries as the last three World Series.

There is, however, one change to the schedule as Australia will host the Adelaide Sevens just a week before Hong Kong in March 2010. The extremely popular Hong Kong Rugby Sevens will take place 26, 27 and 28 March 2010 (see: Pictures of the Hong Kong Sevens).

"The 10th year of the Sevens World Series was a huge celebration of Rugby filled with exciting, explosive action, fiercely contested matches, world class athletes, packed stadia and hundreds of spectacular tries," said IRB Sevens Manager, Beth Coalter.

"As we embark on the second decade of the Sevens World Series, I am sure 2009/10 will be another massive year for the Game, and we look forward to seeing newly crowned champions, South Africa, defend their title for the first time in Dubai."

IRB Chairman, Bernard Lapasset added, "These are very exciting times for Rugby Sevens with the sport represented at the World Games in Kaohsiung this month, and the Commonwealth Games Sevens finishing the Sevens calendar in 2010. By the time the World Series kicks off in December, we will also know if Rugby Sevens is to be played at the 2016 Olympic Games."

2009/10 IRB Sevens World Series Schedule

Dubai, UAE - 4-5 December 2009
George, South Africa - 11-12 December 2009
Wellington, New Zealand - 5-6 February 2010
Adelaide, Australia - 20-21 March 2010
Hong Kong - 26, 27, 28 March 2010
London, England - 22-23 May 2010
Edinburgh, Scotland - 29-30 May 2010

 The 2010 Commonwealth Games Sevens competition will be held in Delhi, India on 5-6 October 2010.

See other recent news regarding: Airlines, Aviation, Flights, First Class, Business Class, GDS, Miles, Hotels, Promotions, New Hotels, Visitor Arrivals, Cruises, Free Deals, Rugby, Sevens

Subscribe to our Latest Travel News Daily Email Free of Charge by simply entering your email address to the right. You can also stay updated with our RSS Feed Free Travel News RSS Feed and even add the travel news to your website. Have questions? Please read our travel news FAQ.
Latest Travel News
Copyright © 1997-2018